The Breakthrough Prize

No items found.

The Breakthrough Prize

Founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, the Breakthrough Prize honors top scientists making breakthrough discoveries in Life Sciences, Physics and Mathematics. Scientists receive $3 million each in prize money.

This exclusive black tie event takes place in Hangar 1 at NASA's Ames Research Center and is attended by world leaders in technology, business and entertainment.

Hosted by Seth MacFarlane (2014, 2015), Morgan Freeman (2016, 2017) and Pierce Brosnan (2018) presenters included Lupita Nyong'o, Rachel McAdams, Julianne Moore, Orlando Bloom, Thandie Newton, Cameron Diaz, Anna Kendrick, Conan O'Brien, Kate Beckinsale, Rob Lowe, Hilary Swank, Jon Hamm, Eddie Redmayne, and Benedict Cumberbatch, along with Sergey Brin, Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg, Yuri Milner, Sundar Pichai, Susan Wojcicki, Daniel Eck, Jan Koum, Kevin Systrom, Larry Page and Elon Musk, among others.  

The show has been broadcast on Discovery, Science Channel, BBC Worldwide News, National Geographic, and FOX.